Changes are coming our way.......but don't worry, you have time to plan. Changes are effective September 2008.
Our 80th Texas Legislature passed a new law doubling marriage license fees in an attempt to curb the divorce rate. On a positive note, if you take a state - approved 8 hour premarital course, your $60 license fee is waived.
This course will cover topics such as conflict management, communications skills and other key components of a successful marriage.
Couples who do not take a course will still be able to get a license, but will have to pay the full $60 plus local fees. Marriage licenses will continue to be issued by each of the county courthouses and be valid throughout the state of Texas.
To read more detail and a list of our State's counties please visit this resource at the Wedding Guide. This is also a nice site to look for local wedding professionals in San Antonio or Austin.