Monday, May 21, 2007

Call you Texas State Senator today!!

***Please forward widely***
HB1751, which would implement an adult entertainment fee to finance sexual assault-related services, will be heard on the Senate floor Tuesday or Wednesday, May 22-23. A committee substitute will be offered on the floor, and we do support it – the committee substitute increases the amount of money set aside for sexual assault from $18 million to $25 million per biennium.
It is critical that members of the Texas Senate know how important this funding is to rape crisis centers and to their constituents. If you're not sure which Senators serve your service area, you can visit or give me a call. Keep in mind that your service area may span several Senate districts.

Please forward this email to other interested people,
so that they may make calls to their Senator(s) on their own behalf.
It is especially important that we reach out to the following Senators. If one of the following represents a part of your service area, please give their office a call and urge them to vote FOR HB1751.
Brimer (R-Fort Worth) – represents part of Tarrant County
Gallegos (D-Houston) – represents part of Harris County, including portions of Pasadena
Harris (R-Arlington) – represents parts of Dallas, Denton and Tarrant Counties
Seliger (R-Amarillo) – represents Andrews, Bailey, Cochran, Crane, Dallum, Deaf Smith, Ector, Gaines, Glasscock, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Howard, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Martin, Midland, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman and Yoakum Counties
Hegar (R-Katy) – represents Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Caldwell, Calhoun, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend (part), Goliad, Gonzales, Jackson, Lavaca, Matagorda, Refugio, Victoria, Waller, Washington and Wharton Counties
Jackson (R-LaPorte) - represents parts of Brazoria, Galveston and Harris counties
Ogden (R-Bryan) – represents Brazos, Burleson, Freestone, Grimes, Houston, Lee, Leon, Limestone, Madison, Milam, Robertson, Trinity, Walker and Williamson Counties
Patrick (R-Houston) – represents northwest Harris County
Uresti (D-San Antonio) – represents Bandera, Bexar (part), Brewster, Crockett, Culberson, Edwards, El Paso (part), Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Kinney, Loving, Maverick, Medina, Pecos, Presidio, Real, Reeves, Sutton, Terrell, Uvalde, Val Verde, Ward and Winkler Counties
Williams (R-The Woodlands) – represents Chambers, Harris (part), Jefferson (part), Liberty, Montgomery (part) and Orange Counties
Whitmire (D-Houston) – represents part of Harris County

No comments: